Journal entry: September 8, 2010

Today I got a rolling laugh out of a comment posted on my story published by change.org  by a woman who honestly believes that her experience is a blanket policy for everyone who’s homeless. Her narrow-minded and short sightedness are indicative of a holier than thou attitude that I have run across before. I don’t pay her much mind as her opinion will fuel the comments of others.  You know what they say, be careful of judging other people, lest you be judged in return…..

Anyway……I checked my resume that I posted online to see if I got any responses to the jobs I applied for, nothing yet but you never know.  The mini-van is officially in my name now. I just gotta come up with the money for the tabs which are due in October and apparently new license plates as the clerk informed me that the plates have to be renewed every 7 years. I just have to figure out liability insurance now because I don’t need any trouble with police harassment. My experience with officers and homeless people is not a good one.

Today my teenager went to school after a two-week delay in getting her records from the Seattle School District. What a difference between this rural area and the city! Caly likes it out here and that’s fine if you have a home and a job to support being all the way out here. Caly opened her home to us because she didn’t like it when she found out how we’ve been living. She is equally not happy with the lack of support from family members that could help, but don’t. I remind her not to worry about them because I believe that you reap what you sow.  My brother and sister-in-law help when they can, and for me, that’s all that matters. At least they’re sincere about it and not begrudging like some others. 

I just went online to see how much it would cost for state liability insurance on the mini-van the neighbor gave me and the cheapest I found so far is $71.74 a month.  I already have to pay $115.00 a month for my storage unit which I am slowly downsizing by selling off what little I own. Whatever I can’t sell will end up at a thrift store, or in the trash. I was going to get rid of the storage unit because I need cash to pay for my teenager’s eye exam as I think she needs glasses. At least this will do until I can earn a full-time paycheck.

In times like this, I take a break from stress and frustration and wonder what it would be like to see the book I wrote for my teenager, suddenly be picked up by an agent, who just happened to know Stephen Spielberg. In this fantasy, Mr. Spielberg would like my story enough to make a movie out of it. But this is just a fantasy I know. Ever since I was 13 years old, I’ve been fascinated with his movies and probably always will be. For now though, I live in the here and now and know that with hard work and dedication, I might just get my story published.  I suppose in reality, my story is getting published right now, on this blog for everybody to read.

Today my teenager went to her first classes. She was excited this morning but also nervous. I’m a little excited for her too because this is a new opportunity in a new school and she is doing all she can to keep a positive attitude. I can’t do everything for her and I know she has to earn her own life’s lessons. It’s just that I wish I could at least soften the blows.

About invisibull

Let's see now, what should I say on here to make people think I'm more interesting than I actually am...I'm a single mother of two with a passion for helping others less fortunate than myself. I like to write, finished a book and am working on another. Other than that I live a real-life video game where the goal is to get out of homelessness and provide a better future for my kids. Peace!
This entry was posted in Homelessness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

