Journal entry: September 9, 2010

Today I don’t feel so well. I think I caught whatever my youngest had. I just hope this doesn’t turn into a nasty sinus infection. My face started to get tingly and I hope it’s not a warning sign of an impending migraine. Sometimes I have 30 minutes, sometimes days before it hits. When everything turns white and I can’t see, that’s when I know for sure. I am going to try to get as many naps as I can today and drink a lot of orange juice.

I talked to my eldest daughter about how it went yesterday at school. She said at the moment, she’s not sure because she didn’t get to spend much time as she wasn’t there for very long. You see, back on August 23rd I filled out forms to enroll both kids in the local schools. They knew we were homeless because of the way the forms are and I wasn’t going to lie. I knew they couldn’t go against the McKinney-Vento Act but for some reason, the elementary school got my youngest enrolled the next day and the high school took our paperwork but never called us back. Schools in this small town started August 30. I called the high school and got a voicemail during business hours but never got a call back. I then wrote an email to the school superintendent who emailed me back not knowing what the hold up was but he certainly would get on the high school about it. That day a counselor called me back completely confused as to what happened then I let her know that my daughter is in I.E.P. and had a slight learning disability. The counselor then said she would contact the Seattle School District to get that information over. The day after that, another counselor called and basically all she did was repeat the same “I don’t know” attitude and said that as soon as they got the information faxed over ( I suspect they didn’t even request the information in the first place until after I contacted the superintendent). My daughter’s first day of school was yesterday at 10:30 am because they made her go to the counselor’s office to make up a schedule then sent her off to class. She got out a little after 2 pm and when she told me that she went to all of her teachers to ask for the homework she missed out on, I felt proud. She was so depressed last year, she just didn’t care about doing any homework. I am hoping that this new motivation will stick around.

I felt bad for Caly as she didn’t get good news after her doctor’s appointment yesterday. She had surgery on her left arm that was supposed to make dialysis easier. The doctor had put in a graft and performed another procedure in her upper arm to make a natural fistula and make a vein wider. She has been having problems ever since because for some reason, she keeps getting clots in the plastic tubing. The doctor told her yesterday that the upper part of her arm wasn’t working but at least the graft in her forearm is. Now she has to probably have another surgery and this will be what, her fourth or fifth one within a two month period??? This doesn’t include the two she’s had on her chest catheter because it got infected once and then had to be replaced twice because one of them had a crack in it. Everytime Caly gets told there’s a problem, she sinks into depression. Can anyone blame her? She is fighting for her life but is getting tired of running into roadblocks all the time. I decided to see what I can do to find support groups for her and look around for any community groups that might be able to help her with her yard since the landlords get on her about it even when she’s told them there isn’t much she can do with all these surgeries. My teenager and I have been doing a lot of work on the yard to help out so I’m hoping the landlords see that. In the meantime, I still have keep our presence here down to a minimum at all times. I just hope that Caly’s long-term disability benefits through her employer are still intact because after a while, they will terminate and then she’ll be out of a job and of course, we’ll be on our way again. I told her that we won’t stay around if its going to only cause more problems for her. Besides, I think our time here is numbered because of the way the landlords have been driving around the park. They announced to everybody that they were going to do a “four point” inspection of all the grounds but when I spoke to some of the neighbors, they said that what they were really doing was asking everybody who lived on the lot with them because the landlords didn’t have a clipboard to check off things like yard work, garbage on lot, etc. like they did before. I suspect they are checking for “unauthorized” tenants so they can ask for more money. I also heard that these new landlords harass people into selling their homes so they can then turn around and rent out the units for even more money. I don’t know if that’s true but you never know.

About invisibull

Let's see now, what should I say on here to make people think I'm more interesting than I actually am...I'm a single mother of two with a passion for helping others less fortunate than myself. I like to write, finished a book and am working on another. Other than that I live a real-life video game where the goal is to get out of homelessness and provide a better future for my kids. Peace!
This entry was posted in Homelessness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

