September 9th continued…..

Took my youngest all the way to Seattle because there are absolutely NO community health care centers here and if I were to go to another one, if she hasn’t been seen before, they will make us wait two weeks to see a doctor.  The good news is, she doesn’t have a urinary tract infection but according to the doctor, she did catch a virus. I just have to be on guard for a full-blown sinus infection.

While sitting in the driver’s seat of the van, I noticed that the seat was slightly damp. The neighbor did say she thought there might be a small leak somewhere. I will have to find a sealant of some kind to take care of that. The worse thing to have at night is water soaking the seats and sleeping bags…..

I hope this bug is gone in the next few days as the last thing I need is to catch pneumonia again. To be honest, I’m surprised I haven’t caught pneumonia several times. I’m just happy I don’t have a migraine!

Today my teen seemed to be in good spirits as she worked on a class assignment. She even had a job application through the school. She said she needed $6.00 for a school shirt and for the application process, a copy of her social security card and a copy of her birth certificate. I told her I have her ssn card but I think her birth certificate is buried in the storage unit. I will have to see how much it will cost to get another copy. She’s wanted to get a job since last year but she is only 15 right now. She is hoping that when she turns 16 in October, she will have better luck.

I got approved to be a regular blogger on change.org and I am glad about that. It will help to have a little cash on hand and write about something I know a little about. There are so many articles I could write about homelessness and unfortunately the amount of material out there is staggering.

Had a weird conversation with my brother that disturbed me a little because for some reason, he chooses to become guarded and paranoid whenever I ask him to share his childhood. I told him that if I do write about it, I wouldn’t use his real name so what’s the harm? I worry because this isn’t the first time he’s acted this way and I fear that something is going on in his head that isn’t healthy. I know others have noticed this tendency but it’s up to him to come to terms with it. The only thing that aggravates me about his attitude is that he seems to think that just because my point of reference is not the same as his, it must not be true. I reminded him that I was on this planet 8 years before he was and just because he didn’t exist to see what I have, doesn’t mean my experiences are invalid. I see this same sad attitude in other family members as well. If something is not in their point of reference they scoff or try to marginalize somebody else’s experience yet when the same attitude comes back at them, they cry the loudest.  At least I can honestly say that I can back up my experiences with proof. I have kept a diary since I was about 11 years old. My brother didn’t have much to say after this comment. For his sake, I’m hoping he steps out of his attitude for a better one. He’s stubborn but so am I. I won’t give up on him because I care about him so much that I can’t give up.  It used to be that I could talk to my baby brother any time of the day or night about anything and that has sadly dwindled. I noticed that I have more conversations with my lovely sister-in-law than I do with him. What the hell happened?

Lately I’ve been having anxiety dreams. I call them that because the theme is always the same but presented differently each time. I dream about having my own land with my cozy cabin on it and growing a huge garden. The kids have plenty of room to wander around and we can have a dog if we wanted. Then it changes, the mood is different and ends with me always running from an unseen pursuer. When I wake up I know exactly what is going on. My anxieties always show up in dreams.

One thing about being out here in Enumclaw, the scenery is nice but there ain’t much here! I promised the kids I would do whatever it takes to let them stay in the same school district more than a year. I just hope circumstances beyond my control don’t make a liar out of me.

About invisibull

Let's see now, what should I say on here to make people think I'm more interesting than I actually am...I'm a single mother of two with a passion for helping others less fortunate than myself. I like to write, finished a book and am working on another. Other than that I live a real-life video game where the goal is to get out of homelessness and provide a better future for my kids. Peace!
This entry was posted in Homelessness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

