Journal entry: September 13

Spent the day looking at my homework to figure out how I’m going to outline the next assignments as well as researching what the future will hold for the less fortunate if wing-nuts have their way.

Caly was really surprised by the cake and “gifts” we made for her. The little chocolate cake I made her turned out especially well and for once, she had a reason to really smile! I know she’s been worried about how she’s going to pay for Medicare B and being told that the operation on the upper part of her arm failing doesn’t help. We are all trying to figure out what we’re going to do.

My youngest one still sounds stuffy so time for more garlic and Echinacea tea for all of us. At least I don’t sound wheezy anymore. I think the bug I had is about gone.

It occurred to me that somewhere in my boxes, I think I have an old camera that my mother was going to throw out that can take about 30 seconds of video. Once I find it, I wanted to take pictures of the parking lots and parks we frequent and maybe do casual interviews with the regulars. I think not putting their faces on camera will make them feel more at ease. It is as though we are a band of gypsies, constantly moving with no real land to call our own. How long will it really take before real help comes along? This is what keeps me up at night with a knot in my stomach.

I think my 7-year old is beginning to show signs of anxiety. She complains of having nightmares about somebody taking her away from me in the middle of the night and never seeing me again. I told her that no one would take her from me without a big fight on their hands. If the state can’t help keep families together, they have no right to pay strangers to do a parent’s job. The politicians in Washington Deceit and Olympia can kiss my brown……….

The teenager has been keeping herself busy with homework but even she is feeling anxious. I am proud of her in more ways than she can imagine. I see in her young face my reflection and it hurts because this is not the life I wanted for her. This is not what I promised her when she was born. Then I get angry and that’s when I tell myself I am at war against ignorant policy makers that are in the back pockets of corporations. I once told one of our governor’s lackeys to remember my name. I guarantee it won’t be the last you hear from me. It is time that people hear and see the truth about homelessness and why it is hard to get back on your feet when the very agencies that should  provide a safety net for its citizens, fails to do so.

On another note, an acquaintance of mine made a comment on the internet that clued me into what kind of mindset he has on people he says he saw on food-stamps. I questioned him about his view-point and am waiting for an answer. It is my intention to put his nether regions into a sling made out of the finest duct tape……….

About invisibull

Let's see now, what should I say on here to make people think I'm more interesting than I actually am...I'm a single mother of two with a passion for helping others less fortunate than myself. I like to write, finished a book and am working on another. Other than that I live a real-life video game where the goal is to get out of homelessness and provide a better future for my kids. Peace!
This entry was posted in Homelessness and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Journal entry: September 13

  1. Belinda Andrews says:

    You are doing a great job educating ignorant & narrow minded people about stereotyping homeless people. Some time ago during a lunch break at work, the topic of homelessness came up. One of the comments I heard was: “They choose to be homeless.” I wanted to tell him off & I was angry at such insensitive shallow comment. However, he was my boss so I bit my tongue by being a coward for fear of retaliation.

    • invisibull says:

      Stay tuned for a post I’m going to make that addresses where that attitude comes from…I was hoping to turn it into an article because I intend to challenge those who think that the stereotypes they feed off serve no other purpose than to give them a reason to justify a superior attitude. It is better to let others think you a fool than to open your mouth and release all doubt…..

Leave a Reply

