Journal entry: September 16

Grey and raining, I participated in a march on Seattle to protest the police shooting of John T. Williams. We want to know, why the officer thought it necessary to shoot a man who was handicapped, 4 times? Why did the officer approach him without probable cause or complaint? If the situation was escalating, why didn’t the officer call for back up? These questions must be answered.  John was a native carver so of course he had his carving knives on him and this was the excuse the officer gave for shooting him?

I met a man named Herbert Pleets who is an artist in his own right. He told me that he knew John for 12 years and he used to drink coffee while John carved. When he heard that his friend had been shot, he couldn’t believe it. In fact, most who knew John couldn’t believe it. A lot of street people came to the protest and rightfully so. As we gathered in the foyer of City Hall, I listened in to conversations about how homeless people have no rights because they don’t or can’t contribute to campaign funds. I saw many crying. I heard a lot of yelling. I saw a lot of pain.

Yeah, the Seattle Times published a nice article about the march and you can read it at this link: http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/html/localnews/2012920846_march17m.html

I’m sure the paper will come in handy tonight when someone uses it to sleep on.

About invisibull

Let's see now, what should I say on here to make people think I'm more interesting than I actually am...I'm a single mother of two with a passion for helping others less fortunate than myself. I like to write, finished a book and am working on another. Other than that I live a real-life video game where the goal is to get out of homelessness and provide a better future for my kids. Peace!
This entry was posted in Homelessness, Police brutality, Protest and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

