Journal entry: September 20

Caly is sick. She’s had a fever for two days now and suspects that the catheter in her chest is infected. This is the second time this has happened. She has symptoms like the flu but I can’t help but wonder if being on dialysis has weakened her immune system. Wednesday she has to go in to have the catheter removed. I worry because I don’t want anything to happen to her because her health isn’t that great now. Even though she may need someone to live with her to help out, the landlords in this park will make whoever she chooses fill out an application and hopefully they will approve them. I just know from previous experience that I can’t pass the financial requirements which seems silly because Caly owns this mobile home yet because it’s sitting on their lot, they can say who gets to live with her. She thought about going on disability but if she does, she won’t have enough money to live off of. Since she is single with no kids, there are no programs to help her out, she’ll just be stuck. I could tell she didn’t like watching us move what little stuff we have into our storage unit but she understands that we may be asked to leave.

My teenager has caught a flu-like virus and had been feeling ill for a week but never told me. I worry because she is not starting the school year off in a good way. The high school counselor already told us that she is only allowed so many absences. I will let them know she’s sick and hope they will understand. I just wish the kid would’ve told me sooner that she wasn’t feeling so well instead of waiting until she has a fever for a few days.

I’m glad I bought a bunch of wool Shetland sweaters from Goodwill’s during the summer for about a dollar each. I choose Shetland sweaters because the yarn can be recycled from them to make warm hats, mittens, gloves and socks for the kids. This year though, I think I’ll make them some vests for extra layers under their coats. That reminds me. My eldest doesn’t really have a thick warm coat. She has a shell that will do okay for rainy weather but I need to find her something before it gets icy cold out here. At least I was able to find a nice coat for my youngest last year when a store had a clearance sale. Good thing I bought it two sizes bigger than she is so she could get the most use out of it.

I hope I hear from financial aid soon. I just gotta know if they approved my application so that it will defer the repayment process for this year otherwise I will have to find $88.00 a month somehow.

About invisibull

Let's see now, what should I say on here to make people think I'm more interesting than I actually am...I'm a single mother of two with a passion for helping others less fortunate than myself. I like to write, finished a book and am working on another. Other than that I live a real-life video game where the goal is to get out of homelessness and provide a better future for my kids. Peace!
This entry was posted in Homelessness and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

