Journal entry: September 23

My youngest got off the bus without her coat. I told her she better not get off the bus tomorrow without it because we don’t have the money to get another coat for her. That was a fairly expensive coat I was lucky enough to get at a 60% off the last marked price sale. I will send an email to her teacher to see if it is somewhere in the classroom.  I got an email today from Mrs. D asking if what she sees in class everyday is typical. I sent an email asking what she meant by that and it would seem that my daughter is not doing her work when asked, something she pulled last year when Mr. Z called her on it. She’s been fighting me after school in doing her homework and that’s a habit I’m going to break. 

I saw in the local paper a family event being held in the next city over which is Buckley. This weekend is National Alpaca Day and there will be all kinds of activities for the kids. I told little hard head that unless she straightens up her act, the rest of us will be going to the little fair. Hopefully this will give her an incentive to get her homework done and pay attention in class.

It would seem that my teenager has finally made a friend at school and wants to spend the weekend over at this girl’s house. I of course said that I want to meet this kid’s mother first. At least they only live a few blocks from Caly’s place so I know where they’ll be.

On a rather disappointing note, I asked folks I know if they could spare three bucks to buy a box or case of top ramen noodles that I could donate to Nickelsville. Not one person bothered to respond back to me. I will scrape up three dollars for a case of instant noodles because they need the food more than I do at the moment. I guess I should’ve known because outside of Caly, nobody bothered to help prevent me from becoming homeless by helping out with childcare when I worked two jobs.

I’m still waiting for financial aid to process my application for next year because my stomach is still in knots over the $88.00 a month I have to pay back for student loans. I checked child support and as I expected, nothing. While waiting, I will continue making clothes for the kids. As long as they don’t get sick all the time, it will help. They just got over some kind of flu-like bug and can’t afford to miss days from school.

About invisibull

Let's see now, what should I say on here to make people think I'm more interesting than I actually am...I'm a single mother of two with a passion for helping others less fortunate than myself. I like to write, finished a book and am working on another. Other than that I live a real-life video game where the goal is to get out of homelessness and provide a better future for my kids. Peace!
This entry was posted in Homelessness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Journal entry: September 23

  1. Belinda Andrews says:

    I’d check out if there are male occupants in the family before allowing my daughter to sleep over.

    • invisibull says:

      There are men here but there are rules here and the heads of security do not allow anyone with a record for sex offenses into the camp. That’s one of their zero tolerance rules. No violence or predation of any kind is allowed in Nickelsville that’s why it’s the only tent city allowed to have families in them.

Leave a Reply

