Journal entry: September 25

I spent the day collecting donations for Nickelsville. I was able to get cases of instant noodles, cup o’soup, oatmeal, coffee, tea, bananas, hotdogs, hotdog buns, cans of soup and peaches along with non food items such as laundry detergent, paper plates, plastic spoons and forks. My step dad even donates a roll of construction plastic which surprised me but was thankful for it as I’m sure the resourceful folks at Nickelsville will put it to good use.

Caly ended up volunteering to drive down there with her car because on the way back from my mother’s place, my van started acting funny. I think it would be a good idea not to drive it too far until I can get it tuned up and have the transmission looked at. We got down to the University District around 9 pm and the folks there looked surprised to what we had brought them. I cannot put into words what it felt like to see that look. I honestly believe that they were not expecting anyone to go out of their way to help. I may be homeless but that doesn’t mean I can live without honor. I cannot look the other way when so many need help and it seems to me that the only people willing to help are those of us fighting in the same war.

I am surprised that my mother bothered to help donate because this is not a normal activity for her but the fact that she did will help people she may never take the time to meet. Caly said she wished she could do more. I figure a little eventually adds up to a lot.

I was proud of my teen for helping unload the back of Caly’s car. I’m not sure what she’s thinking just yet but I hope that seeing Nickelsville for herself will show her that she’s not the only homeless young person out there. She did wonder why we decided to show up at night. I told her that for one thing, there’s less traffic. The other thing is that I don’t need to make a public display of helping others out. Just knowing those folks will wake up to a pleasant surprise is enough for me.

About invisibull

Let's see now, what should I say on here to make people think I'm more interesting than I actually am...I'm a single mother of two with a passion for helping others less fortunate than myself. I like to write, finished a book and am working on another. Other than that I live a real-life video game where the goal is to get out of homelessness and provide a better future for my kids. Peace!
This entry was posted in Homelessness, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Journal entry: September 25

  1. Belinda Andrews says:

    Good on you helping others even though you are struggling yourselves. Such selflessness is most recommended. One day you’ll be rewarded for: what goes round comes round.

  2. JP says:

    You, ma’am, are an amazing woman. Your daughters have a great role model.

Leave a Reply

