Forget about the birds and bees. My kid wants to know about tentacles and Chinas.

My seven year old is a thinker. Recently she was lying down in the top bunk of the beds at my friends house and staring up at the ceiling, wondering about things from her point of view. “Mom”, she said, “What’s a tentacle?”

“Tentacle? You mean like the arm of an octopus or squid?” I answered back.

“No, TENTACLES, you know those things boys have? Boys have tentacles and girls have Chinas, right?”

I had to make sure she was talking about anatomy as I have often jumped to conclusions about her questions and found myself talking about subjects that didn’t match with what she meant.

“Baby, why do you want to know about tentacles and Chinas?”

My daughter folded her hands across her chest and thought for a moment. “Well, I wanna know what a tentacle is and how come only boys have them?”

I was stunned. She is talking about what I thought she was talking about! “Ohhhhh…..well baby, they’re not called ‘tentacles’, it’s ‘testicles.’ Having testicles is what makes a boy, a boy.”

“Ohhhhh,” she said with eyebrows raised. “So Chinas are what make girls, girls?”

At this point my teenager in the bunk below had her face buried in her pillow with tears in her eyes.

“It’s not called a China baby, it’s called a ‘vagina’. “

“Ohhhh, I have a lachina!”

“Nooo….say ‘vagina’.”

“Vagina!” she repeated.

I waited to see what else was on her mind. I watched her face and wondered what else was rolling around in the space between her ears and sure enough she let me know. “Soooo…boys have testicles….how many?”

I could hear stifled laughter below Maggie’s bed. “Last time I heard, they have two,” I replied. Maggie smiled back at me as though a light bulb just went off inside her little head. “I get it! Boys have two testicles and girls have two boobies!” She exclaimed.

My teenager flopped over onto her back in her bunk and rolled with laughter. I smiled back at my daughter. “Yes, that’s it!” I was about to walk away from the bunk but hesitated. “Anything else you’d like to know?” Maggie pulled her blanket up to her chin and shook her head. “Nope, I know everything about boys and girls now!”

Oh boy, you got a lot to learn about tentacles and Chinas I thought.

About invisibull

Let's see now, what should I say on here to make people think I'm more interesting than I actually am...I'm a single mother of two with a passion for helping others less fortunate than myself. I like to write, finished a book and am working on another. Other than that I live a real-life video game where the goal is to get out of homelessness and provide a better future for my kids. Peace!
This entry was posted in Kids, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Forget about the birds and bees. My kid wants to know about tentacles and Chinas.

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Forget about the birds and bees. My kid wants to know about tentacles and Chinas. | Invisibull's Blog -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

