Who will volunteer?

Yesterday I wrote about Rab, the 85-year-old musician and “street preacher” of sorts. He called me yesterday and let me know he is awfully lonely. I know many of our seniors are and was hoping that folks reading this, (if you’re local or have a lot of minutes on your phone) might take the time to contact him to be either a pen pal or phone buddy. Now I’ll be honest, he does have a tendency to ramble on if you let him but listening to his stories about how he grew up and his opinions on how we’ve changed for the worse are worth listening to. If you would like to brighten the day of an elder, please let me know. Thank you for your time!

About invisibull

Let's see now, what should I say on here to make people think I'm more interesting than I actually am...I'm a single mother of two with a passion for helping others less fortunate than myself. I like to write, finished a book and am working on another. Other than that I live a real-life video game where the goal is to get out of homelessness and provide a better future for my kids. Peace!
This entry was posted in Helping hands, Homelessness and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Who will volunteer?

  1. Belinda Andrews says:

    I’d like to be his pen-pal via email & I live in Adelaide, Australia

  2. Belinda Andrews says:

    Silly me! It just shows how ignorant I am of other people’s struggles. Maybe a public librabry? It’s free to use internet in librabry in Australia. I assume it’s the same in America. Library staff train seniors to use computers so that they can connect with others, easing the pain of loneliness. I’m just trying to help as I too have my struggles (not homelessness) but not as severe as yours.

  3. Belinda Andrews says:

    I’m sure Australia is very much like America. As I said before I had been to Vancouver & Seattle. Here in Oz (we are also known as Down Under) due to our location on the globe, lol, all libraries are located close to public transport, even in rural areas. Membership is free & computer training for seniors is also free. Some libraries even provide coffee & tea at a low cost of 10cent per cup compared with McDonald’s $2.75 per cup & no refill. Staff members are very patient. If he is willing to try he’ll find that internet will enrich his life immensely. He might even start chat using Skype. He can also start his own blog like you. The possibility is endless. Then people all over the world can benefit from his wisdom just as I enjoy your blog.

    Again I’m just trying to help. It helps me forget about my own struggles even if it’s just for a short while.

Leave a Reply

