The two I lost….

Even though my thoughts today have been preoccupied with figuring out how I’m going to pay for my storage rent, car tabs and school stuff for the kids this month, there is something else that comes to my mind every October. It is the memory of two native girls I saw every night while working the graveyard shift at a local convenience store. People saw them and would remark how somebody ought to do something about the life they were living. I contacted state agencies and got nowhere with them. I can’t help but think about how they would still be here today if the members of the community would’ve directly intervened on those girls’ behalf by bringing food and clothes to them so that they didn’t feel like their only hope was to try to be like their aunt who was a prostitute addicted to heroin. I gave the kids sandwiches and tried to get them more help but it was too late. This poem is for them:

This is the month of holiday ghosts, of goblins and ghouls, of pumpkin seeds roast.

Their names long forgotten, but not their memory, two innocent lives I miss the most

I was strict, but wanted them to play, lost childhood I saw everyday

 

Where did you go, I wandered, I asked, nowhere and none too fast

Bad company came calling today, bad company came and took you away

Eleven and twelve, so young and pure, in shallow graves found you were

 

I tried, I cried but no one cared, simple compassion was all that you dared

That aunt of yours, I blame her I do, her addiction they said, made her a fool

Following her footsteps, you two did take and now from slumber you’ll never wake

 

Childlike voices, childhood prayers, all you needed was someone to care

I hear your names upon the wind and wonder if you’ll forgive our sin

We failed to save you, to bring you in and now I’m left with suffering

 

The swings in the playground move with the breeze, I hope the gods of mercy see

Your memory, innocence lost, still comes to haunt me

About invisibull

Let's see now, what should I say on here to make people think I'm more interesting than I actually am...I'm a single mother of two with a passion for helping others less fortunate than myself. I like to write, finished a book and am working on another. Other than that I live a real-life video game where the goal is to get out of homelessness and provide a better future for my kids. Peace!
This entry was posted in Helping hands, Homelessness, Kids, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The two I lost….

  1. This is so beautful love carmela

  2. Belinda Andrews says:

    Just Brilliant & such talent!

  3. ChooseyBeggar says:

    breaks my heart

Leave a Reply

