A Secret Affair……

When I first saw him, I knew he belonged to another woman, my best friend in fact. Then it started. Whenever I went to her house to help her with dinner, he quietly watched us in the kitchen. At first he regarded me with his typical nonchalant flair but as he got to know me, his demeanor changed. I know it’s wrong but I couldn’t resist his soulful green eyes. I pretended I didn’t like his displays of affection even though I knew all the while I was falling in love with him.

With my fingertips I softly traced the features of his regal face nestled in my lap. How can something so wrong feel so good? How could I betray my best friend like this? Am I not guilty of stealing his affections from her? What kind of friend am I? When I spent nights at Caly’s house, silently he came to me when she was fast asleep. No…..no this is wrong, I would say. What if she catches us? He respected my wishes but gave a mournful look back at me as he left.

For weeks and weeks this had been going on and all the while I thought she didn’t know. Then one evening while paying her a visit, I realized she knew and surprisingly she wasn’t all that upset. “I know he’s in love with you, I have eyes you know.” Oh god, this is it, this is the moment I have dreaded for days on end! “You’re not upset?” I asked feeling a little taken aback by the fact that she wasn’t fuming. “No. See things between us haven’t really been the same. Hell, it wouldn’t matter to me if you let him live with you. I think you two really have chemistry together, more than we ever did.” I felt like crying because I should’ve come clean from the start. “I didn’t mean for this to happen!” I cried. Caly smiled at me, blue eyes twinkling over the rim of her glasses. “No, you didn’t, but it did and that’s that. Jasper has made his choice and there’s nothing I can do about that. Best thing to do is just move on from here.”

I know that I will never find such a forgiving friend such as Caly, not in a million years. And Jasper, well, he’s just Jasper.

About invisibull

Let's see now, what should I say on here to make people think I'm more interesting than I actually am...I'm a single mother of two with a passion for helping others less fortunate than myself. I like to write, finished a book and am working on another. Other than that I live a real-life video game where the goal is to get out of homelessness and provide a better future for my kids. Peace!
This entry was posted in Homelessness, Just for fun, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Secret Affair……

  1. Lost Awareness says:

    Jasper! What a face … it makes sense.

    Thank you, I cried tears of joy at this one.

    They are looking at me funny in the store I’m using for wifi right now. It’s with it!

  2. homelessgirl says:

    HAHAHAHA, I lolled big time with this.

    You’re a great writer.

  3. Love this story you are a neat person Carey luv you Carmela

Leave a Reply

