The waiting game

I don’t know what’s worse…the waiting around for a mechanic to call with a quote or the anxiety that comes with the wait. Add to this the frustration of never hearing back on all the jobs you applied for and the constant worrying about a better future and you have the perfect recipe for an ulcer. To my surprise I haven’t gotten one yet.

Maybe it’s because when things start to pile up in my mind, the only way to vent is to write it out in poetic form. That’s what happened late last night while reading about my favorite poet, the great Maya Angelou. Her words always take me to that place inside me that keeps me from caving in.

Thank you Maya, for all your “singing” words!

 

I know why the great lady sings

 

I know why the great lady sings

Of freedoms we all dream of

It’s because she sees as only she can

The obvious in everyone’s wingspan

 

The first time I read her poetry

I thought she was talking straight at me

About a woman’s work taken for granted

The kind many of us call our own

 

When the great lady sings through spoken word

I feel as though she understands what it’s like to be alone

Because like her I find that my soul is still seeking

That place to call home

 

All this time I thought I was making it on my own

But then that couldn’t be true since

I have been traveling with souls equaling two

My girls are the eyes I must measure up to

 

And I think this time around, while I’m down in the dirt

The perspective has changed from here

If I look up into the sky, to greet the dawning sun’s light

Then maybe too like she says, still I will rise

 

Across this land like a red ocean, my ancestors bled

Because greed came to visit and take

What did not belong to it

I have become the dreams they hope

Will bring us all back

 

Child within the woman I am sees a little clearer now

How love frees pleasure from the pains

And memories drawn from deep inner springs

Made me a little wiser and now I know

 

Why the great lady sings

About invisibull

Let's see now, what should I say on here to make people think I'm more interesting than I actually am...I'm a single mother of two with a passion for helping others less fortunate than myself. I like to write, finished a book and am working on another. Other than that I live a real-life video game where the goal is to get out of homelessness and provide a better future for my kids. Peace!
This entry was posted in Homelessness, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The waiting game

  1. Jason harre says:

    Email me with where you are. I lived in my car for over a year but that was years ago. I would like to know how I might help. Your courage to be open is inspirational.

    With wishes of abundant blessings
    Jason
    Gardenprahna@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

