An understanding educator

After an interesting conversation with my youngest’s teacher, I have discovered that my daughter actually told her class that she was homeless. This is the email the teacher sent to me after I sent her a message saying “She did?”:

“She did and it was very matter of fact.   I can’t even remember what led to the comment.   She did not seem ashamed, just matter of fact.  I don’t want to label her and would never have brought it up myself to the class but sometimes when you say something aloud it does not have the power to shame you.  I clarified what it meant in Maggie’s case because I think that some kids associate homeless people with only those that hold signs by the roadside.  As we know, it is much bigger and more complicated than that.”

                                                                                                                                Judy

I am so proud of my daughter! I was worried about her self-esteem because she was reluctant to go to a new school and I also worried about her ability to make new friends. Last year she refused to tell anybody that we were living in a run down motor home because she didn’t want the other kids to make fun of her. I think having an understanding educator like Judy has gone a long way in making Maggie feel “safe”. Maggie has even told her teacher that she may not be at that school, which may be true, I just won’t know yet.

This incident just proves to me that kids are tougher than we give them credit for. I think that for Maggie, seeing how her mother deals with a tough situation has influenced her attitude about being homeless.

Now if only I can get through to my teenager!

About invisibull

Let's see now, what should I say on here to make people think I'm more interesting than I actually am...I'm a single mother of two with a passion for helping others less fortunate than myself. I like to write, finished a book and am working on another. Other than that I live a real-life video game where the goal is to get out of homelessness and provide a better future for my kids. Peace!
This entry was posted in Homelessness and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to An understanding educator

  1. What a great little girl…as you say..how proud must you be of her…Eliza Keating

  2. Galaxian says:

    The competent teacher probably knows but will keep publicly mum. Now verified. Good.

  3. Danielle Notaro says:

    Shows how tough kids are you say. And sane! Your teenage daughter-ahh- so many changes going on with her being a teen and all. Ask her where her center in her self is. Maybe that will help. My best to you and yours, Danielle

  4. - michael - says:

    Kudos to your daughter for being able to be (as her teacher pointed out) “matter of fact” regarding your family’s current lack-of-housing situation — and that’s exactly what homelessness is: a lack of housing. It is, as I so often point out to “housed” folks, not a definition of a person’s character.

    By being honest and open about your housing status (despite the potential stigmatization from her fellow classmates), your daughter has exhibited far more character than many of adults — housed or homeless.

    – m –

Leave a Reply

