New Descendant

A while back I mentioned that while living out of the Minnie Winnebago, I wrote a story for my oldest daughter to keep her mind occupied. New Descendant came about because she was angry and depressed most of the time and writing about a young girl close to her age was the only way I could comfort her. I wanted her to see that poverty does not define who you are as a person. It’s just a situation that you have to live through the best you can.

At the same time, I wanted her to hear the stories of our cultural background. Characters like Raven, the Yunwi Tsunsdi (Little People), Shape shifters and vampire like creatures (Aswang from the Philippines) were stories I heard while growing up. A lot of folks don’t realize that we have tales of werewolves but they are not like those that came from Europe. The wolf is not an evil spirit to be feared.

I still write about the main character, Yeracenna and her journey through a world that seems strange and wonderful at the same time. I have the outlines for four sequels already written out and am working on the second book, Serpent’s Ascent. At the same time I’m working on Tales from the driver’s side which is about half-way finished. For me, writing is like a medicine to soothe a weary soul. In it I find new energy that I didn’t know I had!

I hope readers young and old can relate to the characters I created. In many ways I think the story kept my daughter from sinking further into depression while we lived out of the RV. Maybe it will help some other kid out there from doing the same.

About invisibull

Let's see now, what should I say on here to make people think I'm more interesting than I actually am...I'm a single mother of two with a passion for helping others less fortunate than myself. I like to write, finished a book and am working on another. Other than that I live a real-life video game where the goal is to get out of homelessness and provide a better future for my kids. Peace!
This entry was posted in Homelessness, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Descendant

  1. tina says:

    This was such a good story can’t wait to read more

Leave a Reply

